top of page
  • Writer's pictureRochelle

My Designer Kitchen

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

This week in my AutoCAD (computer-aided design) we have been working on designing a kitchen. The project was completely our own- meaning we have total control of how to design this kitchen. For me, I find this exciting- I love having control of a design!


This project comes from a field trip the class took to Marsh Kitchen on Tues. 26 February. Unfortunately, my son was sick the night before and I was unable to find a babysitter for the next day on such short notice. (Which turned out to be a good thing because it was one of those "mummy-required" sicknesses.. poor thing.. He's doing great now!) Needless to say, I did not make it to class for this trip and just did a little research on my own about kitchen design.

 

This post will just be of the Kitchen Floorplan.

 

When the assignment was posted, I immediately began generating this design in my head. I knew I wanted an extra large elegant kitchen with long countertops stretching on either side of the room, with a medium/large sized island centered, and a ginormous bay window above the sink. I imagined it to have enclosed glass and wood upper cabinetry, with wide base cabinets made of wood featuring some drawers.


First things first- I began sketching the layout of my floorplan.



My very first sketch of the kitchen floorplan.

I know it looks very basic from the top view, however, in my mind I see it for the beauty it will be.


(And pay no mind to the image behind my sketch..

My daughter likes to use my sketch pad for her drawings- and that is a cat!)


I find that working with AutoCAD is kind of really fun (when it's easy and you get the hang of it!), so the next step of developing my sketch to AutoCAD was exciting.



AutoCAD sketch.

This is the sketch before adding necessary text labeling the refrigerator, dish washer, and kitchen island.


Again, I know it seems very basic, though I did add a bit more things, such as: the third wall, more cabinets and counterspace, and a dishwasher; but, by the end of this project you'll see why I love this kitchen design I created so much!!

 

A sneak peak of what's next for this kitchen design project!!



Be sure to check back in to see the rest of this developing design!

See you soon!!


Rochelle.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page